Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Filter by Categories
African Swine Fever
Agricultural Services
All Manuals - Crops
Animal Production & Health
Bees Sensitization
Bulletins - Crops
Contract Employment
Department Subdivision and Units
Extension Training & Information Services
Factsheet - Advisory
Former Ministers
Gallery 2019 Page
Gallery 2020 Page
Gallery 2021 Page
General Public
Giant African Snails
Home Gardening Series
Home Gardens
Homepage Featured Land
How to Grow
Lease Letter Distribution
Livestock Feeds
Locust Management
Manuals & Booklets - Livestock
Media Releases
Pest Advisories
Photo Gallery
Photo Gallery 2019
Photo Gallery 2020
Photo Gallery 2021
Posters - Other
Poultry Bulletins
Public Notices
Public Officers
Regional Administration North
Regional Administration South
Root Crops
Seed Initiative
Survey More
Surveying and Mapping
Sweet Potato
Training Courses

Agricultural Services Division


Agricultural Services Division

The key responsibilities of the Agricultural Services Division are as follows:

  • To produce high quality agricultural planting material for sale to the farming community and the general public thereby contributing to improved food security.
  • To expand and conserve germplasm collections of strategic crops of agricultural importance in live genebanks and /or cold storage, so as to ensure sustainability of the Agriculture Sector, for the benefit of both the present and future generations.

The Agricultural Services Division (ASD) is pleased to advise that our Sales Offices will be opened from Wednesday 23rd June 2021, with the implementation of an Appointment and a Pre-Order System for our customers. For further information please click on the following link:

There are four (4) stations under the purview of the Agricultural Services Division:

  1. La Reunion Plant Propagation Station
  2. St Augustine Nurseries, Curepe
  3. Marper Farm, Manzanilla
  4. National Seed Bank



Sub-divisions of the Agricultural Services Division

The Agricultural Services Division is divided into two (2) sub-divisions:

  1. Horticulture Subdivision
  2. Crop Production Subdivision 


Horticulture Sub-division

The Horticulture sub-division encompasses three stations: the La Reunion Plant Propagation Station, the St. Augustine Nurseries and Marper Farm.

At the La Reunion Plant Propagation Station, major emphasis is placed on the production of cocoa plants, breadfruit and coffee as well as avocado, mango and minor fruits nursery plants.

The St. Augustine Nurseries is responsible for the production of citrus nursery plants, mango, avocado, other minor fruit plants as well herbs and spices and selected ornamentals.

Marper Farm propagates avocado, mango, minor fruit, bananas and coconut plants. Various tree crop types are maintained and conserved at all stations including Marper Farm where particular emphasis is placed on the conservation of cocoa germplasm.


Crop Production Sub-division

The Crop Production sub-division comprises of one station, the National Seed Bank (formerly known as the Chaguaramas Agricultural Development Project) which is located at Tucker Valley, Chaguaramas and is responsible for producing locally adapted, true seed material e.g. corn, pigeon peas, ochro, bodi, pumpkin, melongene, hot pepper and other local vegetables. The National Seed Bank is also mandated to conserve germplasm collections of key strategic crops of agricultural importance under cold storage conditions. In addition, root crop planting material are also cultivated and sold at this station such as cassava and sweet potato.

Local seeds are packaged and are sold at all county offices, National Seed Bank, St. Augustine Nurseries, La Reunion Plant Propagation Station and Marper Farm.

PUBLIC NOTICE – Change in Business Hours at the Agricultural Services Division

  • St. Augustine Nurseries (Director/Administrative Office) and La Reunion Plant Propagation Station
    Office Hours: 8:00 am to 2:00 pm
  •  Marper Farm and the National Seed Bank (NSB)
    Office Hours: 8:00am – 12:00pm
  • Marper Farm (Mondays – Thursdays)
    Sales Time: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

Departments, Sub-divisions & Units